Flying Witch (ふらいんぐうぃっち)

Flying Witch is the anime adaptation for Chihiro Ishizuka’s manga of the same name. The series came out during the spring season of this year. I have always been a sucker for smart animation and art so as soon as I saw the trailer for the series, it was already at the top of my list. Flying Witch follows the daily life of Makoto Kowata when she moves in with her cousins Kei and Chinatsu as part of her witch training.

Flying-Witch-Wallpaper-560x420.jpg

The first thing I noticed about the series was its strange humor. Instead of the usual one-liners or slapstick gags, the series’ humor centers around awkward situations. It does grow on you very easily but you keep catching yourself mid-laugh wondering why you’re laughing at the first place. The pacing is just right for this slice of life series; it’s as lighthearted as lighthearted comes.

As often as I can, I try to watch anime series without subtitles or dubs to develop my ear for the language. I’m in no way a language expert but immediately, I noticed that I would miss a couple of words early on in the series. It wasn’t until episode three that I learned that they were speaking in a different dialect. The series is set in the Aomori Prefecture and there are several characters talk with an accent and others that structure sentences a bit differently. My mind had completely melted when Kei’s father, Keiji, strats to speak in straight up Tsugaru-ben.

Flying Witch is a 12 episode, fantasy, slice of life anime minus the fantastical backgrounds. The series sets up viewers to be enticed by Makoto. Given that the series’ pace is slower than most, it still felt a little too short. I came from the light, fluid, crisp art and I wasn’t disappointed. Flying Witch is an amazing series, however, I can’t recommend it for anyone who is looking for a series with an active plot progression. It takes it’s time with creating familiarity with Makoto, and the people and events surrounding her as a witch.

If you enjoy anime, manga, or the Japanese culture in general you might consider going to The Best of Anime this weekend. It is an annual pop culture convention held at the SMX Convention Center. Be part of the community and celebrate your love for the industry.

Leave a Reply

