Ransom Rigg’s Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children follows the story of Jacob Portman and his journey to find out the truth behind his grandpa Abe’s last words and consequently, discover a reality behind the peculiar stories he’s been told when he was younger.

14435341_1451619474854308_9022740783093192825_o.jpg

Ransom Rigg’s first novel, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, is a relatively good read. It stands with an engaging concept but that’s all it had for the most part. It doesn’t try hard to push the story forward, which is good in terms of pacing but has resulted to dull moments.  Asymmetrically, there are scenes that were written very vividly; probably a result of Riggs having a background in film. I honestly had nightmares about the book.

The book is littered with creepy pictures and letters that set the tone of the story in a way. Ransom Riggs has created a wonderful world, the story is well set and consistent.

The film, diversely, is excessively different from the novel. Although Riggs has responded positively to the changes, there was one big issue for me. From the several trailers, I could tell that Jake would be paired with a girl with the peculiarity of air – Olive, in the novel. My heart dropped, however, when instead of switching Emma and Olive, what happened was they completely swapped peculiarities where, Emma was now the girl who was lighter than air and Olive was the pyromancer. Maybe it’s just me being too set on seeing the flame-wielding tsundere I had come to love in the novel.

There were also big changes to the story line that I think were unnecessary. The out-of-nowhere ending, kind of created more loose ends with all of Jake’s loop jumping and such.

The pace at the beginning of the film also set me off. Usually a movie’s pacing becomes tighter when being translated from a novel but, I felt the development at the introduction felt too sluggish. Yet the friends I watched the movie with, who haven’t read the book, thought it was a pretty good build-up.

Both the novel and the film for Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, are equally satisfying in their respective rights. Although I do think the book made me more hyped to continue the series. I finished reading the book three weeks before the film came out and I would constantly catch myself reaching for the second book. It is definitely worth reading if you want to go on a fantastic, peculiar journey.

Leave a Reply

