Daytime Nightmares [Flash Fiction]

6551239_f260

I awoke at the sound of grinding stone.

     “Mum?” Molly cried as she struggled to push away the heavy lid of my sarcophagus. I looked at my watch; 9:30 AM. I watch her struggle a bit before sliding the lid off completely.

     I sit up. “Nightmare?” I ask, rubbing sleep from my eyes.

     She nods and picks up her stuffed werewolf from the floor before climbing in beside me.

     “I told you not to watch those Halloween Specials, they always give you nightmares.” I lay beside her and pull close the lid.

     “Sleep tight, Molly,” I say

     “Sweet dreams, mummy.”

©coversonyourbed

Word count: 100
Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

